Lois B. Krieger Water Project Grants for Educators

LoisBKrieger Since 1995, Western Municipal Water District has offered educators in western Riverside County the opportunity to apply for grants for water-related projects. This widely popular program helps fund creative classroom projects that further a better understanding of water and the vital role it plays in the community. All teachers in Western's District, in both private and public schools in grades K -12, are eligible to apply for these grants.

The grants, up to $1000, are named for Lois Krieger, who served as Western's representative to the Board of Directors of the Metropolitan Water District of Southern California for 25 years. She was the first female chairperson of Metropolitan, as well as the first female President of the Association of California Water Agencies. 
Krieger Grant Recipients 2013 Through the grant program, educators and students have the opportunity to become actively engaged in educational and water-related projects. This program continues to have a wide-ranging impact on students and educators in Western's general service area. The application filing period begins on August 1. The deadline to apply is Friday, November 9. Teachers in Western's service area are eligible to apply. For a list public schools visit: http://wmwd.com/366/Qualifying-Schools

Both public and private schools are eligible. For questions regarding the grant application process email: LDeGrave@WMWD.com

Application for the Lois B. Krieger Water Project Grants for Educators

Field Trip Sponsorships

Western's current field trip program is sponsored via the Lois B. Krieger Water Project Grants for Educators. Teachers can apply each year during the months of September - November for field trip sponsorship through the education grant program.

For more information on our grants and sponsorship opportunities, contact Western at 951.571.7255

2017 Krieger Grant Recipients



  • Centennial High School – Sunny Kaura
  • Centennial High School – Abbe Kya
  • Centennial High School – Lila Patel
  • Centennial High School – Jenna Rasmussen
  • Centennial High School – Lindsay Stotts
  • Santiago High School – Teresa Forbis
  • Temescal Valley Elementary School – Kelly Remington
  • Temescal Valley Elementary School – Maria Sheehan  


  • Arlington High School – Sheri Harris
  • Arlington High School – Steve Oster
  • Arlington High School – Brian Watkins
  • La Granada Elementary School – Ronda Bryan
  • Orrenmaa Elementary School – Terry Bolton
  • Orrenmaa Elementary School – Melinda Lauriano
  • Pedley Elementary School – Dinah Palagi
  • Ramona High School – Jassue Kutz
  • Ramona High School – Bill Southern 
  • Valley View Elementary School – Regina Saenz-Lara
  • Victoria Elementary School – Julie Higgins


  • Railroad Canyon Elementary School – Glenda Haas
  • Temescal Canyon High School – Shaun Galvan           


  • E. Hale Curran Elementary School – Kimberly Ordinario
  • Murrieta Canyon Academy – Jason Rothlein
  • Murrieta Mesa High School – Natalee Boggs 
  • Murrieta Valley High School – Mariano Aranda 
  • Murrieta Valley High School – Don Fitzgerald
  • Shivela Middle School – Louis Scull
  • Thompson Middle School – Judy Howell


  • Riverview Elementary School – Amy Sanchez


  • Ronald Reagan Elementary School – Christine Mann
  • Sycamore Academy of Science and Cultural Arts –
    Nona Jones
  • Sycamore Academy of Science and Cultural Arts –
    Wendy Lizardi
  • William Collier Elementary School – Jesse Rubner